Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Coffee in town

No cycling this morning. Apart from the fact we were busy doing stuff, I think the Links would have been saturated after yesterday’s rain. 

JR went off shopping early, while Archie and I went to return a few items at the Hermes drop off shop. I’m not overly impressed with their deliveries, but their returns are slick. You get a QR Code with all your info on it, take it to the shop, print off a label and bingo! No hassle.

I really fancied a decent coffee, so we hopped on a bus round to near the Royal Mile. It was quite busy, but of course, nothing like a normal August busy. We walked down the long steps to our favourite cafe, The Milkman, where I could sit inside on the window seat. Archie was only sitting up there briefly for the photo. Then we walked back up those never-ending steps across the road, stopping frequently. 

I was going to hop on a bus home, but decided to give Arch a bit more of a walk. If we’d taken the bus, we would have got home dry. The weather was correct again - rain in the afternoon. But the next few days are dry, perhaps even warm and sunny! Whoopee!! We’re off to the beach tomorrow.

Terrible news about the huge explosion in Beirut. I do hope the International Community will flock to help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.