Just Sneakin' Around: the Stealth Caterpillar

Our milkweed patch is really doing great this summer, and I keep checking it every day for monarch caterpillars, as that's the only thing those creatures actually eat. We've seen a caterpillar or two here and there, but the weird thing is that then they just seem to disappear.

And when we see them again, they are HUGE and SASSY like this one right here. Then - oopsie daisy! - they're gone again! I've started to think of these here-and-gone critters as our stealth caterpillars (like a stealth aircraft, I suppose). Or maybe they're just sneakin' around. . . .   ;-)

The soundtrack song is sung by Dolly Parton and Burt Reynolds, from the film The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, which I must admit is one of my guilty pleasures. The tune is a fun little romp called Sneakin' Around With You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.