Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Turn

Tuesday was a shocker, weather-wise: grey skies, constant heavy rain and strong gusty winds. Summer in Scotland, eh? So it was a day spent indoors, and a day when I got some work done on the computer that wasn't urgent but needed to be done (or tasks which I wanted to do) at some point.

By early evening, though, I needed to escape. The rain looked as if it had eased off, the wind seemed as if it had died down and so I decided I'd just walk down to the Canal, maybe along the towpath for a bit, maybe even do my routine 2km circular walk that is my standby when all else fails.

I lasted less than ten minutes. My initial observations about the rain and wind were more hopeful than accurate and as I made my way down the farm road that leads to the Canal I found it flooded in a number of places. Then the heavy rain turned once more to a downpour. I turned on my heels and made a swift return home, needing a change of clothes after my fifteen to twenty minutes outdoors.

But I had managed to get some exercise or some fresh air. Or so I convinced myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.