Reflection

It's been a day of reflection about ageing and illness. I helped my friend, the Troubadour, with a lift to the hospital in Kalmar on the mainland. He's diagnosed cancer and is in for radiation of the area. He's over eighty and is getting really slow. He thinks a lot about how fragile he is at the moment and is quite nervous about the whole situation. I'm glad I can relieve him from fretting about travelling by bus and I can be a listener.

I finished listening to a novel about time and the difficulty communicating between people and generations by a brilliant writer called Kerstin Ekman. Her novel touched me very much, probably since I'm in the "reflective age" myself now.

Also I talked to my aunt on the phone because of her 95th birthday last Sunday. She's quite demented now and I was wondering if she would still recognise my voice. She did, but could not remember what she did on her birthday or where she had been. She thinks she's having a good time though and is happy mostly. That's good, I won't argue her about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.