Gull at Fontana di Trevi

Definitely a quirky three-year blip. But I still think of myself as a bird photographer (despite all the non-bird blips that inevitably intervene), and so when I spied this Yellow-legged Gull at Rome's most famous fountain I thought, "That's it!" Fortunately the close crop still reveals a bit of the fountain in the lower right. A large view gives a better look at the bird.

For the curious, this gull species (Larus michahellis) is essentially the southern variant of Europe's Herring Gull.

Blipfoto has long-since become a regular part of my life. Marylee and I are inveterate travelers, and my blips help us keep track of where we've been--here in Rome, for example, we think back to earlier trips but we don't have earlier blips to orient us. More importantly, I'm constantly on the lookout for interesting images, and I think my sense for that continues to improve. And there are my blip-friends, regular, occasional and downright sporadic--thanks to all of you. Often the exchanges are quicker than regular email, and they speak directly to our respective visions. Finally: the site is simply fabulous. Blipcentral has continued to refine it, and I can no longer imagine life without it.

My About page contains links to various tagged series, including a fair number of birds, and to my website. This blip is reminiscent of my black-headed gull in Venice in 2011. It's also suggestive of this gull on the head of a king, from Lyon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.