Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Buildwas Abbey

I definitely bit off more than I could chew today.  It started with a walk before breakfast into Walsall and a bit of indulgence with a drink and breakfast bap at one of the local coffee establishments.

I was due to play golf over at Telford in the afternoon, so took advantage of the drive and headed out to Wenlock Edge.  I had no definite plan as to where I might walk, but I ended up doing another 9 miles from Easthope to Wilderhope Manor (see extra) and back along the Shropshire Way in the woodland that covers the edge itself.  I'd never realised that past generations had constructed a railway line along Wenlock Edge, which is now used for the footpath and allowed for a gentle gradient for most of the return trip.

I suppose it was inevitable that my golf game would suffer after the exertions earlier in the day.  Even a break in Much Wenlock for lunch and an opportunity to take advantage of the new 'Eat Out to Help Out' offer, only slightly replenished the batteries.  Still it was good company and finished off with a drink and late bite to eat with other players.  All in all a very full day.

Day Miles:  20.1 miles. Total Miles: 992.6 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.