Scarecrows!

I walked down to the beach to meet Lorraine and Emily this morning and then we walked into Rottingdean.  I'd booked a table for lunch in the garden at the Black Horse, but we had a couple of hours to kill before then - Lorraine wanted some beach shoes for tomorrow and I bought a beach umbrella as it's forecasting to be in the low 30's.  I asked if I could leave it at the shop until we were  heading home as I didn't want to carry it round with me.

We then went in search of the scarecrows.  The primary school had run a competition and they're dotted around the village, although I've not managed to find a map showing where they all are.  I found quite a few though, and they're great!

By 12pm it was already very hot so we went into the garden of the Rottingdean Lounge and sat in a covered gazebo which offered us some shade, and had a glass of wine.  It used to be called the Rottingdean Club which was for members only and was quite dated inside, but Phil the guy who took it over a couple of years ago has done it up and it's now open to everyone.  We've booked the gazebo for tomorrow night when Alan finishes work as they have 2 4 1 cocktails from 5pm-7pm.

Lunch at the Black Horse was lovely, I had a Thai green monkfish curry!  I love monkfish but have never had it like this before, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  From there we went to Elif's shop as Lorraine wanted to buy some of her jewellery, and I ended up buying a top which is made out of a Liberty print and matches the face mask that she made me, it's very pretty.

I remembered to pick up the parasol and then we walked home, but it was so hot it was hard work!   Lorraine & Emily went back to their Airbnb and I came home - I was so hot and sweaty by the time I got back, that I went and sat in the hot tub, although it was actually a cold tub as we haven't had it heated up.   It was so nice to cool down though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.