a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Pentaptych

Abstract Thursday: Pentaptych

It is havfever season (for me at least), so I am sure that I can be forgiven this pollen filled entry to this week's abstract challenge that sounds like a sneeze.  To be fair, I'm not sure how you pronounce the word "pentaptych", although its is just a fancy ancient Greek way of describing an image divided into 5 panels.

This image started off as a shot of one flower against another.  I deliberately added some grain to the photo and then chopped and enlarged sections of the original image into 5 slices to achieve this end result.  The 5 slices are layered over a background that takes an averaged blurred section of part of one of the images to provide a tonally pleasing neutral back cloth to the main image.

It sounds complicated, and to be fair ensuring the 5 panels were the same size did involve a piece of paper and a pencil.  I need to write my maths down - so that I can find the inevitable errors.  If I wasn't doing this on a Thursday night, after a walk across the fields to the beer garden of the pub in the neighbouring village I probably wouldn't need to write down the calculation as the maths involved doesn't really require a calculator. 

We do, of course, have pubs in our own village - 4 in fact. But the best beer and the most responsible Covid-19 protection, is to be found in the beer garden of a (much smaller) neighbouring pub a good 2K across the fields. 

That might sound like a chore, but the walk there, and more importantly, the walk back across the fields with the clear skies of Summer are good for the soul. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.