Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Magenta marvel

Today was another hot day, unbearable at 36C. I was very busy today as before we go away I like to wash all the bedding and towels and make sure the laundry basket is empty, clean out the coffee machine etc. I had a long list and have been getting through all my tasks and ticking them off as I go. 

I also squeezed in a hairdresser appointment. My hairdresser said that after being so extremely busy once the hair salons were allowed to open after lockdown, they are now worryingly quiet, but maybe people are away on a summer holiday. Apparently from tomorrow clients have to keep a mask on at all times whilst in the salon which is not that easy when getting your hair washed or coloured. I used disposable masks today which was the right choice as it got wet when I had my hair washed so I could change it for a new one.

Xena is a bit off colour today but I think it is the heat, these thin coated dogs do feel the heat very easily. She enjoyed her walk very much and seems okay but is a bit lethargic and not eating much which I suppose we all are feeling when it gets so hot.

I must now go make breakfast (overnight oats with blueberries) and lunch (chicken quinoa salad) for the journey tomorrow as the food in the French services is awful and I prefer to take my own. We are only going for 2 weeks but there is always so much stuff to take out there, including all Xena's food and crate etc.

It will be a horribly early start tomorrow, Gavin wants to leave home at 4am and it is a long journey ahead of us. Luke, Adam and Meriel are arriving on Monday so Gavin and I will have a bit of time to settle in and get food before they arrive. 

I could not resist getting some more images of heather today, but close ups with my macro lens.

My sister should have been arriving from SA today for her holiday with us, but a certain virus ruined those plans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.