Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

On my way to the store today I passed my patio and saw a butterfly sitting inside the greenhouse on the backside of a hanging pot. It's really warm today, so I hurried to the store to get home and release it. 
Then I walked past a family dinner... I'm sure there were over 15 butterflies feasting on thistle flowers. I had to take some shots and they weren't afraid of me at all, so focused on their party. There're 5 in this shot. Can you see were? :) 
Home again I went straight out to let the butterfly out, but to my great sadness, it was dead. Hopefully it was its 'time' and not being trapped in a greenhouse... I'm keeping the 'door' unzipped for the rest of the weekend, since the heat is lingering. 
I'm already planning for next season. Earlier start, growth lights in the window and hopefully my building plans will go as planned next year. Beans and sweet peas, zinnias, tomatoes and other veggies. Marigolds and lavendel. I will also try and make some space for winter storage in my outside storage. 
I'm also going to by more veggies from work to slice and put in my freezer, and save for the winter. Even tomatoes can be frozen, in pieces. Not sure how a tomato marmalade will be on frozen tomatoes... but, I'll try. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.