Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

A rainy day, but I needed to go to the supermarket to do some shopping and collect a parcel.
On my way I couldn't resist this dog rose and as I stood infront of it, almost in it, with my umbrella, fiddling with my phone, my neighbour drove by. He waved at me from his car and I'm sure he wondered what I was doing standing infront of this bush under an umbrella in the rain... :D
When I got to the supermarket and walked to the box system for parcels I noticed a young man walking between the boxes and the entrance to the supermarket. He was really upset and wandered, I think without even noticing, back and forth like he was in serious distress. He was talking on his phone and I heard a little of wheat he said: 'You must leave!', got a reply, 'You cannot stay!', and got another reply, 'Where are you now?!'. Clearly the person he was talking to was in danger of some kind. He noticed me coming and moved a little, but kept pacing around in a state. I heard him say 'You cannot stay!' again and then I had to concentrate on getting my parcel out from the box machine. Of course my parcel was in one of the boxes at the bottom. At first I couldn't see my parcel, but when I bent down I saw it in the back of the box. I'm happy I had my umbrella with me so I could poke around for a bit and finally get it out. It felt so silly, but I couldn't go down on my hands and knees to get it out. 
The young man was still pacing around in a state and we were several people casting our eyes at him. Not sure at all what caused this upset, but clearly something was really bad and he was very scared for whoever he was talking too. 
I did my shopping and went home. On my way home I couldn't help but wonder what this was about... A friend, a relative, sister ot brother? I must admit one part of me wondered if it had something to do with the criminal world, because the area I live in is not spared from drugs and such. Whatever it was, I do hope his friend is safe, whatever he or she might have done or what the situation was... 
I'm happy I got out when I did, because I feel a bit worse afterwards. Not well yet. But, I think my body hasn't healed from Covid yet, so even the smallest of summer colds are a lot to handle.
When I got home I had gotten a text message from the company delivering my parcel to the box system. They wanted me to rate my 'experience' and leave a comment. This is the first time I haven't left 5 stars. I left 3 and made a comment about the parcel being in the back of the bottom box and that it wasn't easy to get it out. I don't think they'll think twice about it, but I made my comment anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.