KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Making Progress in the Class

Eek....there really is a light at the end of this remote-teaching/learning tunnel, but there's still a lot of work yet to do, including the term-end tests. I love to teach, but the part I love - building relationships with the students and watching them absorb and delight in plants....is a big missing piece. Oh yes, I've tried just about every way I can think of to engage them and what works best are the zoom classes out in my garden. But they're not required. So I haven't "met" at least half of my 30 students. I have no idea who they are - they're just spinning out there in the world doing their homework (sometimes on time) and I have no idea if I'm being effective or not. But the students that I get to talk with are marvelous, so I'm grateful for that. I can't imagine being, say in elementary school, and having to learn via computer. I have scads to say about that, but it's a Friday night, the weather is lovely and I have a date with my husband and a lovely bottle of wine! 

Today's blip is of some a really lovely form of dahlia that I have in my garden. I think I bought it a few years ago. This year it has been ravished by snails and slugs but it's finally produced a couple of blooms. If you don't look too carefully you won't see how damaged they actually are. Last year the (or a) Katydid decided it was very fond of this dahlia and took up residence, pooping all over it as it munched away. I saw some evidence of this recently so I'm going to have to research how to suggest to the Katydid that this poor plant has had just enough this year. 

Meanwhile, I am so grateful for all of your lovely comments and so many hearts and stars one yesterday's blip of the Flame Skimmer! I am truly honored! By the way, it (he/she) was waiting for me this afternoon in the garden - a different trellis this time. I said hello and wondered if it was waiting to have its picture taken :-) 

Hope you all are having a lovely Friday evening, or early Saturday as the case may be. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.