KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

It Rained this Morning!

We woke up to rain! It was lovely and all I wanted to do was to curl up and go back to sleep in the cool, rainy, grayness of early morning. But I have to answer to my students during our Zoom meeting at 9 am, so no lounging around for me. 

I only had three students attend the meeting this morning, instead of the usual 8 (of 16 students) and I'm guessing either they felt the same was as I did, or they thought I wouldn't go outside and look at plants in the rain. Wrong! We had a lovely wander in the wet garden this morning! 

Afterwords I went on a great walk in the arboretum with my dear friend Phil - we had such a lovely time we've decided to do it every other week! Followed that by a couple of doc appointments and then home to the garden, where I found this gorgeous dragonfly! 

I believe this is a 'Flame Skimmer' - what a great, and fitting name! Like the other dragonflies that visit the garden, this one landed on an iron trellis. It kept flitting away and coming back and didn't seem to mind me at all. Last year I had a similar dragonfly come visit the garden every afternoon - I could tell it was the same one because its wing was torn. One afternoon I took its portrait and I swear it was smiling at me. We'll have to see if this one does too :-)

Happy Thursday!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.