KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

An Afternoon in the Garden

I had to work on my class for a couple of hours this morning, but then had the whole lovely afternoon to do exactly as I pleased....so toddled out to the garden. I did a lot of deadheading and a bit of weeding - mostly I just enjoyed the lovely cool, sunny afternoon. It felt a bit fall-like actually, because of the coolness. 

This junco came to my tiny birdbath just after I got outside. I didn't even have time to put the camera on a tripod...just held still and hoped. Not perfect but I love that the water drops are almost frozen! I set up my tripod on the porch of my potting shed after that and got it all set up for remote shooting through my iPad, but alas, this was the picture of the day!

The lovely Flame Skimmer from two days ago came back for a visit this afternoon...this time with a female (I learned the one I blipped was male) visiting too. They seemed to do a little dance, flitting about on the same trellis and then, according to what I researched, did a very brief in-flight mating. She skedaddled off to lay her eggs in water somewhere and he disappeared. Drama in the garden!

Happy Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.