Success!!

After yesterday’s ‘fail’ with taking advantage of the government subsidised eating out campaign, I had more success today! I asked a friend if she wanted to meet me for dinner and I successfully got a reservation from the first place I called - The Dew Drop Inn near Maidenhead. And yes, they WERE part of the scheme. We each had a burger (mine veggie) and ginger beer and we each paid just over £8. It unexpectedly rained just after we arrived but we were sitting under this canopy - 2 of us at a table meant for 8. So we were dry AND socially distanced! We were told that the canopy was bought during lockdown in order to give them more sheltered outdoor tables.

I love this little pub. In the middle of a wooded area down a long narrow road. Very easy to miss. The name always reminds me of ‘The Waltons’. Anyone remember why?

Dolly and I came to this pub after a camping trip and on her 16th birthday when we shared a very delicious venison burger. A more infamous visitor was Highwayman Dick Turpin and his horse Black Bess, both of whom are said to have hidden away in the cellar of the Inn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.