Celebrations 2.0 (And Cricket!)

I mentioned that yesterday my Lodger returned after being gone since mid-March.

This evening I decided to take him out for dinner to say ‘Welcome Back’. I was planning on doing that anyway, but the new Governemt scheme (Eat Out to Help Out) to subsidise eating out by up to £10/person on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays in August seemed an even better reason to do it TODAY!  

It was a last minute decision and we started ringing round places on the list of participating restaurants/pubs. You can look up the list in your area. There were 100 within a 5-mine radius of my postcode. I had no idea there were so many places to eat in my neighbourhood!  

The first 4 places we rung from the list were full!  On a Tuesday!  What a great scheme for getting the economy moving again! We decided to try The Cricketers pub in Littlewick Green. Bingo!  An available table if we came right away. So off we went. We even got a table outside with a view of a cricket match being played right there. My Lodger is a cricket fan and used to coach kids cricket and started their club. So he was very happy. We had a delicious meal. AND pudding!  

I went in to pay. Only to find out this pub was NOT taking part in the government scheme!  Grrrrr. No one to blame but myself. With 100 other places in my 5-mile neighbourhood, who would have thought there were still some not participating??

It was a very pleasant night out, though. And a good story for a laugh. Extra Photo shows the charming little pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.