Solitary...

...goose. I was up really early this morning (well, really early for ME) to do a grocery pickup, and since I was out already I swung by the park to see if there was any Olympic action going on, but it was too early for the events to have started. I did, however, spot this STATIONARY goose sitting on the beach all alone. I asked if I could take his picture, he agreed, and we started talking. I was absolutely amazed when he told me he'd competed in the 1948 AOG's in London, and had flown in just the night before to attend todays' races in Lake Michigan. He came early to make sure he'd get a primo spot to watch them from. He also told me he'd competed in the 200 meter individual medley--the very event being run later this morning. I asked how he'd done in the games & he said he didn't win any medals, but that it wasn't about the medals. "It's about the excitement and camaraderie with your teammates. They become your family, and you depend on them to push you to do your best. They encourage you and lift you up when you're down, & celebrate with you when you're doing well. I left the games with so many wonderful memories!"  Well, & isn't that the way it SHOULD be? Smartest goose I've ever spoken to! (which begs the question: How many geese have I spoken to? .......the answer is 1! LOL)  Thanks to Debbi for hosting the AOG'S, and to Chantler63 for hosting MonoMonday this month. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.