Furness Abbey

Tuesday 11th August 2020

Having checked where we could access on the train I decided to drive to Ulverston and then along the coast road to Barrow in Furness. I did find one place to stop to reach the beach but it still wasn't inspiring. When I got to Barrow I realised that it wasn't a good location. That means the train in that direction is a non starter. 

Along the way I spotted a sign to Furness Abbey and did my usual detour to explore. The ruins looked interesting but when I tried to go in I discovered that, due to COVID, it required pre booking on the net and they couldn't accept extras on site despite the fact that the shop/museum was empty at that point. I had to go 5mins up the road to get a strong enough signal to "pre-book" and got a slot so I could return straight away. I do understand the requirements for managing entry at this time but I would have thought there could be some means of filling the gaps on site? I could have understood if I could only get a later slot. Oh well, that's the times we live in. 

I spent an enjoyable and peaceful time there but it didn't help in the planning of the retreat as we wouldn't be able to get there. 

I decided the peninsular wasn't going to give me what I needed so I might as well enjoy some time to myself. I tried to go to the National Trust Nature Reserve but it was heaving with people, the car park was full, as was the road leading to it. I changed my mind! I then drove up to Coniston, which was the same, with every stopping place along the water full and Coniston itself packed. I continued to Hawkshead and it was the same there. I finally managed a short walk in Grizedale Forrest but not much in the way of photos, I've deleted them all. 

I did enjoy the drive and the abbey but as for finding a location for the retreat it was a complete failure ... except to know not to go in that direction! A bit of a frustrating day but a day out anyway :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.