RSPB Leighton Moss

Wednesday 12th August 2020

So, as West didn't work yesterday I tried South ish. The Train could take us to Silverdale so I drove there to investigate. The station is right next to the RSPB reserve so I had a good walk around there. It was quite enjoyable but I didn't see as much as I did at Foulshaw the other day. I was very pleased with this capture. I also thought the extra was fun and could be part of Hanulli's Alternative Olympic Games. Instead of stone skimming it is Cormorant skimming. 

I also wanted to check out whether we could walk from the train station to Jenny Brown's Point on the coast. Although on the map it is 1.8 miles the route is quite a challenge and not one I want to lead a group on. Foiled again. Silverdale station will only provide us with the RSPB reserve. 

I did move the car and had a walk at Jack Scout, with time to sit on a rock with a view over the cliff. I then moved down to Arnside (which I have explored before and is becoming the best location for the workshop) but it was heaving with people on the beach and playing in the water so I didn't stop. The heat was getting to me as it had reached 30 degrees so I decided to head back to the B&B. I did stop at Foulshaw Moss for another peaceful walk although I think the thunder in the distance and the approaching storm had made all the dragonflies, lizards etc go into hiding, I didn't see as much as the other day. I spent a bit of time watching the birds on the feeder and got a surprise when I captured the woodpecker coming in for his turn - extra. I was actually photographing one of the little birds at the time and didn't see his approach until after I took this, so it is quite by chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.