Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Battle of the Bands

First attempt at Event / Gig photography, comments/improvements welcomed

First gig of 2013 at Battle of the Bands tonight. We draw straws for the running order so somehow my acoustic, one man and his guitar act was 3rd on the bill! Overall I was pretty happy with my set, although I still feel as if I'm much better in my bedroom in front of the mirror than comes across when I'm behind a microphone! Had the surreal experience of being interviewed for our uni radio station after my set finished. Thats something I've never had to do before, quite freaky really!
The BotB gives an opportunity for bands to go through to the final with the winner getting the headline slot at Campus Festival at the end of Term. The winners in the end were Yellow Bird, a folky duo who I think deserved the win (listen to 'To His Coy Mistress'). I was lucky enough to tie for 2nd with a couple of girls with cracking voices so I might yet get a wildcard entry to the final. In all honesty I don't mind, I just enjoy playing!

The night also got me 'booked' to play another gig next week, and one of the big end of year Extrav's (mini festivals held by each Lancaster College) so all in all it was a great night rounded off by a trip to the Sugarhouse.

This is the lead singer of Project:Unicorn, a heavy metal band who were somewhat at odds on the bill this evening. Musically they were good, although the singer could have been better but their 'Everything Louder than Everything Else' approach didnt do them many favours as the sound got very muddy very quickly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.