The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Roots

The beech with the huge root plate has featured here several times before, but not with Gus. I was trying to persuade him to stay while I retreated to take the shot. I showed him a gravy bone as an incentive. But poor Gus clearly thought he was in the doghouse and retreated downslope with his tail between his legs to wait for me. In the event this allowed me to take a more natural photo of him as he came back to the call.

It was a grey and drizzly morning, and on top of the Knott I climbed onto the trig point to get an elevated shot of Gus waiting for me below, probably thinking 'what is that idiot doing now'. I hadn't quite got the shot I wanted when an early walker appeared from the trees. I hadn't expected to see anyone at that time in the morning. But after two and half years of blipping, I have gone past embarrassment. He remarked it wasn't a good day for classic views from the Knott. He was right, I couldn't see much through the fog from up there.

Apart from Gus walks it was a good day for staying in. Particularly as Wales beat France in Paris. I watched the match with the two lads snoozing in front of the fire, a perfect afternoon.

I will get that trig blip one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.