The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A bit of a bore

Gus has just spotted that I have raised the camera, and is doubling back. I had been trying to persuade him to stay in front, so that I could blip both him and the Arnside tidal bore that was travelling up channel towards Blackstone Point and into the Kent estuary towards Arnside.

The appearance of the bore was a more welcome surprise than you would expect of most bores. I heard it before I saw it, and it was travelling faster than a man in wellies would be able to run. As the tide funnelled into the Kent estuary it would have formed an impressive bow wave. Tomorrow it should be even better with a 10 metre high tide at midday.

I had walked over the Knott, through Heathwaite and down to Far Arnside to check on progress with the wild daffodils and hellebores. Another couple of weeks and they will be looking good. Spring is coming, though we are told there may be more snow tonight.

Which is a bit of a bore, as tomorrow I am heading down to Southampton. My Dad has to visit hospital on Tuesday and Wednesday for a surgical procedure. The old flier is a great stoic, but he does need someone to help him get to and from hospital, and to feed him and keep an eye on him afterwards. If all goes to plan, I shall head home on Thursday. I shall leave the iPad at home with Wifie, and so shall likely be backblipping when I get back. My Dad does have a laptop, but I have been wary of his computers since the old one filled up my camera memory card with a bizarre collection of music files that proved very awkward to delete.

I may be able to slip a quick blip in before I go tomorrow, but otherwise I shall probably be away from blipworld until Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.