THE CHANCES OF ANYTHING COMING FROM MARS......

..... were a million to one they said - BUT STILL THEY CAME.

(That's kinda how I felt today, sort of ish).

A partly frustrating but partly enjoyable day today.

I decided I needed to try and get out with my camera.  I completely forgot it was Saturday.  WHAT A MISTAKE A TO MAKE A!!!!

I headed up the A65 and turned left at Ingleton.  Well the start of the journey was slow due to getting stuck behind a row of cars and a large lorry, but no matter I wasn't in any hurry. 

After heading up the Hawes road towards Ribblehead I again got stuck behind a large truck carrying some sort of pipes.  Again no matter.

However on the way there were so many cars parked in laybys, really crammed in - sooo many people, no social distancing whatsoever.
Ribblehead Viaduct was a nightmare.   I wanted to turn left to Horton-in-Ribblesdale anyway - AAAARGGGGH - I must have come across well over 100 people walking all over the road, not giving a hoot about social distancing  or traffic trying to get past.   They were split into large groups, but obviously more than one or two households full.  This went on for miles, just people everywhere.  Needless to say I left the car windows firmly wound up, aircon on, audio book playing and just moved on.  Never mind I thought I'll stop at Giggleswick - NO CHANCE.  No spaces.

There were so many cyclists and hoards of motorcyclists too.  As with motorists and pedestrians, most were fine but you also got the occasional eejet that didn't think the laws of the road applied to them!!!!

So I ended up at the Goat Gap cafe and because the car park didn't look too bad I  pulled in.  All cars were well spaced, so I tentatively had a look.  It was well spaced out, people were asked to wear masks on entry (most did).  They came to serve you.  All staff, including the chefs, were wearing masks.  I kept mine on until the food was bought to me.  I had a very delicious Welsh Rarebit on Sourdough bread with a very delicious salad.  I used the facilities because it was well looked after.  I also used hand sanitisers several times, put my mask on as I left the table.  I had chosen a table right in one corner well away from anyone - but the spacing was really good anyway.  I used my own hand sanitiser again once I got into the car.  So that was quite good.  I can't say I wasn't a little nervous but it was as good as it possibly could be and I do love the Goat Gap Cafe anyway, so good to support the local business.

Rather than just go home, I drove round the back roads and ended up in Borwick again.  This time I walked around the village - only two men around, on the village bench catching the sun and talking and very polite.  I found the back entrance into Borwick Hall grounds.  I thought I'll ask if anyone minded if I took photographs.  Never met a soul.  So I wandered around the front took some photos, quite a bit of scaffolding up but  to the back and only one side of the house, which must be a good thing as it is looking somewhat neglected.  I did not touch a thing and was very mindful of where I was walking.  

I then just came home to a lovely iced drink and ice lolly waiting for me.

The best thing was I got to listen to my lovely Miss Silver audiobook (well a few chapters anyway) and see lovely scenery.  The only bit I really hated was the hoards of people.  I won't be doing that again - next time I go out and about will be during the week and more local.  I also noted several places worth stopping to take photos maybe in October, if we aren't all in lockdown again on a reasonable day and NOT A WEEKEND.

For those that don't know Borwick Hall was the outside scenes used in a wonderful little sitcom from 1976 called The Ghosts of Motley Hall.  Borwick Hall also has a very special meaning to me as many years ago my parents were part of the "Friends of Borwick Hall" and my Dad in fact, was their treasurer.  So I wanted to be there for him as well.

Hope you are all well.  Staying safe, not joining the hoards but enjoying yourselves.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.