Ola Gorie jewelry

This morning I was sitting outside with my camera, bird watching, when I got a message from my sister who lives on the Isle of Skye. (Top photo).

My immediate thought is “How did she talk me out of that?!” I tell her yes it’s an Ola Gorie piece that I bought and did she now have it. She then tells me that the ring belongs to Ruth, her mother-in-law. Ruth’s mother had given it to her.

I then rush inside the house and go to my ring stand and put my ring on my finger and snap a photo to send my sister & Ruth (Bottom photo)

I know it’s the first real ring I ever bought with my own money and not sure if it was in 1970 or 1975.

Back in the early 60’s, Ola & Arnold lived in Toronto Canada, along with my parents, and like all Orcadians, they stuck together and we celebrated all the major holidays together as a large group.

That has always made me partial to Ola’s work. I have several of her early pieces as I prefer them to her later work. Not exactly sure why but that’s just the way of it. I am almost never in Kirkwall without making a stop in her shop “The Longship”

Stay home if you can and take care of yourself and each other. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.