ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Should I Stay or Should I Go

Those with long memories will recall my Blip of 12th June when I finally took the bike for its service, after putting it into winter hibernation last October.
Sad to report it hasn’t actually turned a wheel since then (too hot, too wet, too many other things to sort.....) so I made tentative enquiries on Tuesday about putting it in p/x against a new car (see Blip of 11th August for details) as I felt I couldn’t really keep something like that in the garage and not use it.
Anyway, long story short, the car we test drove proved not to be suitable so it was on to plan B whereby Mrs C got a new car (hers starting to be a bit unreliable) and I kept my car but still put the bike in p/x so less money had to change hands. Suitable car is in stock at another of the dealers outlets and a deal has been put together, pending a test drive in the actual car. The price offered for the bike is pretty low, but just about acceptable.
But here’s the rub. All I’ve done today is look at the bike every time I go in the garage and wonder if I can really bear to be parted from it. I told myself I could always buy something cheaper to fill the gap but, to be honest, to get anything halfway decent and then allow for some fettling, I’d probably (definitely!) end up spending not far off what I’m being offered as a p/x value.
So, keep an almost new bike with very few miles on it, and put a bit more cash into buying the new car OR let that bike go and spend a (slightly??) smaller amount of cash on something older - but possibly more interesting - with more miles on it.
Decisions, decisions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.