too productive?

I woke up and decided to take Samuel to Great Falls Park, rushed downstairs, fed the birds, got ready, dragged him to the car and made him get in, opened the garage door, and....
saw Karen's car blocking me in the driveway because I'd told her to park there so I could wash her car today.

I'm not teasing you all about your heatwave anymore. It has gone to extremes. I'm very sympathetic. 

We had bizarrely lovely weather for August here. It was cool and wet and Samuel and I walked so far this morning that Samuel slipped twice once we got home. (Mental note:  don't let him walk that far again no matter what he wants.) The colors were rich from the wet, the light was lovely from the moisture in the air. We've had so much rain that mushrooms are everywhere. 

I started hand washing her car after 11 and when I got bored with it, it was 3:25. I don't see how that was possible but it is 2020 so. 

On the one hand, it looks great. On the other hand, I've never hand washed a car before and I don't recommend doing it to what is now a well-used car. I'm not sure it looks so much better than it would have if I'd just taken it to a car wash. I now know every chip and scratch and dent. Her getting that car had been the closest I'd ever come to having a new car and I dreaded the day it would be dinged. Naturally, that meant it was badly scraped within months. To me, with a car from 1998, it is still "the new car" even though I now have a new car of my own. I did use a special cloth on it that removes scratches and to my astonishment it worked, it worked really well it was like magic. 

Then I vacuumed two floors of the house (which sounds more impressive than it is, remember our floors are small). 

Now my poor hand aches. 

Remember the theory that every time something completely weird happens it means someone came back in time to 2020 to try to fix it and messed up? Fire tornado in CA today. Fire tornado?????? "...rotating smoke plume being ingested into a pyrocumulonimbus cloud that could produce a bonafide fire-induced tornado."


Ok, we have the story, we have the moral of the story, God is clearly punishing us, could the story end now?

Was this what people in England felt when the Vikings just kept coming back every single freaking year? 

This is a parrot. It came in a drink served in a pirate cup. It was so silly and so wonderful that I took it home with me, from the Virgin Islands, and kept it, in a drawer, until I was finally sensible enough to realize I didn't need it and divested myself of the cup. I attempted to give the parrot away after taking its picture but the little boy wasn't interested. 

That was a fabulous, quick trip that I was able to afford thanks to the terrorism discount. After 9/11 no one wanted to fly so a friend and I were able to go to St. Thomas and stay in a resort over a long weekend for some absurdly low price. We were supposed to have a room facing the boats but no one was there and we were given a much better room. We got to go snorkeling and kayaking alone with a guide who normally never went with fewer than four people. Oh it was fun even if we had to lie, for safety sake, and say we were sisters. 

Betelgeuse sneezed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.