photo privacy

People I know who worked in Afghanistan are going through their social media to erase or otherwise make sure no one can see pictures of their Afghan friends so they are less likely to be identified as having worked with Americans. I am sure this is true for the Brits, French, Danes, etc.  

My neighbor who kindly let me practice on her and her husband early in the pandemic asked me to do a headshot shoot for her. She has a contract to write some LGBT fiction. The headshots of other authors are all over the place so I had artistic freedom. She wanted a shot that her friends would recognize as her, but Google Lens would not, so that people she doesn't know or isn't friends with couldn't do a search on her and learn all her life details. I couldn't find any guidance online about how to protect yourself from Google Lens, only websites assuring how wonderful a tool it is. Our hope is that sunglasses, a hat, and a tilted face will make it harder for the algorithm to identify her. 

In addition to disguise from Google AI, we were going for light sex appeal. We (she, her husband, and I) had a blast trying to do that. 

The hat was my idea but it really worked, hopefully for both ends.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.