Wedding Day

The great day has arrived! And I stood, a lonely figure, outside the City Chambers awaiting my bride. And then I saw her, flanked by her daughter and amoureux, making their way up the High St towards me. Mary Quant, with a bit of Charlie Miller to top it off; and looking more gorgeous than ever. As for myself, dignified, I trust, but with just a hint of East End gangster and a nod to the mod aesthetic (I lifted that from AJ).
So, the ceremony. Masked up, guests spaced out (indeed), start the music, and in we waltzed. 
Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin 
Dance me through the panic 'til I'm gathered safely in 
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove 
Dance me to the end of love.


Yep, we really did. And then it was out for photos, cabs, and The Old Chain Pier. Oysters and champers overlooking the sea, before sitting inside for the meal, and the speech! In order to comply with the covid regulations, we were only allowed one speech, y'see. I made that bit up, but I got mentions of everyone in, including old Leonard, Ricky Demarco, and growing up in bungalows. How they laughed....
And then outside again to mill around with the guests, and the sun fully out. Happy Day!
And later we strolled with a few of the guests back along to the house, where I did that thing of lifting the bride over the doorstep, before sitting out around the patio with friends, while the bonhomie and love flowed.  


Dance me to the wedding now, dance me on and on 
Dance me very tenderly and dance me very long 
We're both of us beneath our love, we're both of us above 
Dance me to the end of love 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.