Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Not Laurie Anderson...

Hi everyone, I hope you’re all keeping safe and well.

I haven’t been great at taking pictures recently but I figured it was about time for another entry in my album cover series, so here’s my tribute to Laurie Anderson’s 1982 classic, ‘Big Science’. 

The album is best known for the song ‘O Superman’, which reached No 2 in the UK charts that year www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vkfpi2H8tOE and which is always worth a listen!

The original cover photo https://movingtheriver.com/2017/04/22/laurie-anderson-big-science-35-years-on/ was taken by Greg Shifrin.

Anderson is a fascinating artist across a range of media, and remains very active. I enjoyed a recent interview with her on the Homo Sapiens podcast https://play.acast.com/s/homosapiens/laurieanderson-season4 (Patti Smith was another great recent interviewee) and I’d also like to recommend her 2015 film ‘Heart of a Dog’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PLWVXICQyM 

I’ve only had the opportunity to see her perform live once (so far...) and I’m glad I took it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.