Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hello from Xena

Last night when we took Xena out for her last toilet stop before bed, it was such a beautiful clear night that I decided to try some astrophotography for the first time. Being in the mountains with very little light pollution, the sky was incredible and I could clearly see the milky way above us. I quickly googled the recommended camera settings before we went outside but of course I did not think to take a torch - so there I was fumbling in the dark, trying to remember which way infinity focus was on my lens and as a result I got some disastrous photos that all had to be deleted. I will have to try again on another night when the skies are so clear again, hopefully another night this week. I have not seen such beautiful night skies before so I must try to get some photos.

This morning Gavin and I decided to have a short walk after our big hike yesterday, but we ended up going up and up the mountain before finally descending back into the village after about 2 hours. We rewarded ourselves with a cappuccino at our favourite cafe before going home for lunch. Luke is back to studying today and Adam is busy preparing a report to be handed in tomorrow. 

After lunch Gavin and I went on a cycle ride. The problem with being right in the mountains is that everything is up or down, with no smooth flat trails. It is wonderfully easy going up using the e-bikes but the downhills are a bit scary for me as the trails are full of rocks and loose stones and I keep thinking I am going to slip and fall. Xena trots along next to the bikes very easily and as we are not going very fast she copes just fine. Gavin has now gone to play golf with two of our neighbours and when he gets back I will make pizzas for supper - I have bought the bases (including a gluten free one for me) so I just need to add the toppings.

Tomorrow rain is forecast which is fine as my legs need a rest!

This image was taken on the cycle ride this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.