Turner was here

We took a while to get ourselves sorted and ready but eventually we were off in the van for a sortie over the Border. ArcLight had alerted us to the fact that the A68, our route north, would be closed for some time due to a landslide so we took the Wooler road to A1 at Berwick. It was longer, but a change.

We intended stopping at a wild camping place on the way north but the first one at Scone, where I’d sussed our a nice walk, said no overnight stays (it was on our wild camping map as ok) so we moved on to a place at Bankfoot also on the map, but it was now part of the road works dualling the A9. Next place was the Hermitage but it was so near the A9 the traffic noise was awful. Plus it was surrounded by woods who was claustrophobic. It was NT car park for a pretty walk so we did that. The sign said Turner and Wordsworth had been to this waterfall before me.

I’d read of a way to do slow exposure on Live on the IPhone so thought I’d have a go. It had worked at home but I couldn’t get the long exposure option to come up which was annoying. So here you have just a boring blip.

I objected to hurting around for a wild camping place in this area as there seemed few quiet options so we phoned to a CL site near Blairgowrie and got a lovely quiet pitch on what used to be a fruit farm. The sun appeared briefly so we got our chairs out and pretended it was summer.

I’m indulging in a spot of nostalgia and re-reading ‘The First Fifty’ by Muriel Grey, the book that inspired me to do 50 Munros before I was 50. 16 years later I’d done 284 and finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.