A Working Day


I carried on painting the planks for new facade on the south wall of The Red House. I had to water down the paint a little as it was drying so quickly in the heat.  I was also drying in the heat and after a while started to feel a bit dizzy.
I finished the plank I was painting and retreated back to the house to make a sandwich and a large drink of our elderflower cordial, diluted with ice-cold water from the fridge. 
That was a basis for a lovely lunch taken sitting in the hammock in the shade as I listened to the last "summer" program of the season.
Back to the planks and painting - by the early evening all 16 planks are painted with at least two coats. If my maths is correct this will be enough to finish the job. If I've messed up the maths I have a little paint left and two extra planks.
I thought about ending the working day there but the bilberries were calling from the forest. We've almost got 10 litres in the freezer but that's only enough for 6 months of breakfasts so I'll feel happier if we can get 20 litres before the season is over.

Those of you who have a botanical bent will see that my photo is not bilberries, but lingonberries. I thought I'd blipped painted planks, the forest, and bilberries, all quite recently so for a change I chose the ripening lingon. It'll be a week or two before these are ready to pick but it seems there's going to be a bumper harvest there too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.