The Last Picture Show?

Not quite! But there won't be many more shows using 35mm film.

Like all movie theaters in the US, the Pickford Cinema, our local nonprofit independent theater, has had to choose between installing new digital projection systems or going out of business. The cost for upgrading its screens is $225,000.

A fundraising campaign began on September 27th last year, and by December 31st had raised $250,000. Clearly, the Pickford is a cherished institution here.

Today I went to a donors invitation-only showing of Rivers and Tides, a film about the work of British artist Andy Goldsworthy, OBE. I'd seen it before, but I was glad to be able to see it again. There were free donuts, bagels and fruit in the lobby before the show, and Mimosas.

Pensioner would love the Pickford -- did I mention that they serve beer and wine in the lobby? I've posted a few more photos on my Flickr photostream.

See extracts from the film here.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.