I've been intending to do this for a while and today I actually got round to starting it. 

You may remember when there was a greenhouse in my garden, although only for a week, and since then I've ignored the concrete block edging that was left when the greenhouse was sold. But with a skip on the horizon (when the builder's ready) I thought I'd get the spade out and see if I could shift it. Actually most of the sections are too heavy for me, I'm not risking my back, but I can probably rock and roll them to the side of the house without too much bother.

I've cut the runner beans down and put them in the garden bin ready to be collected tomorrow, the blackfly infestation is beyond belief and has severely affected the crop. But I've sown the seeds that I had left over, fingers crossed there's enough summer left for them to grow.

In other news I went to B&Q this morning to get a few things, mainly a decent door handle for my new internal door - which is now on and much, much better than the cheap and nasty one that I asked the builder to put on. Will I ever learn!

Then I called into a local fireplace showroom. I thought I was okay with the fire surround in my house, but actually I'd like something different. Since I can't replace the surround myself, and there's nothing wrong with the marble backing and hearth, I'll have to pay for installation... but that's the way it is. I'm capable of lots, but not all.

I also applied my house number to the outside of the meter box door, I hope the numerals stay stuck.

Later Dave popped round to have a look at the tree, and it's booked in for removal in a couple of weeks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.