Across the Ribble

Forecast dull and drizzly. A good time we thought to visit Southport. Circumstances mean we remain very cautious and avoid any proximity to people. As a useful guide, I am now using the “cow length” measurement. In my head I put a cow between me and the approaching person, and am comfortable with that.

We stopped at the RSPB car park at Marshside, and walked to the sea. The salt marsh has really extended since my time working in these parts, a lifetime ago. Really impressive, and carpeted in sea aster at the moment, tinting it a light lavender colour. On the outward walk, to the left good views of the pier across the salt marsh (extra). And once we arrived at the estuary muds (the sea still a distance off) good views of the pier again (extra) and both Blackpool and it’s tower and pleasure beach (the blip), and Lytham.

I have spent so much time in house and garden this year, it is just a joy to have long distance views and big skies. And colourful linnets, hunting kestrels, calling curlews, redshank and oystercatcher, and bright white little egrets, which can just about be seen in the blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.