Peterloo

Birthday shopping for a certain person in Manchester today. 

I took some time out to have a better look at the new Peterloo monument, the hoardings around which were removed this week. The 200th anniversary of the event at St Peters Field in 1819 (15 killed, over 650 injured, following a charge by the Manchester and Salford Yeomanry) was yesterday.

I've been reading that there has been no memorial to Peterloo until now, although I don't think that's true. The names of those who died in 1819 are set into the mosaic floor of the glass arcade the links the Central Library and the Town Hall Extension. That's been done very well.

I'm not so sure about the design of this one. Maybe it will grow on me.

But I did like the "Mishaping Peterloo" exhibition at the Craft and Design Centre (an example in the extra). Took a photo, had a coffee, and then got on with the serious business of looking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.