Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Razing The Desert

< back blip >

There's a star in the center of the Arizona state flag. It's not gold, it's copper. We are the "Copper State" and the copper mines pretty much have the run of our natural resources.

The Freeport-McMoRan mine which is spittin' distance from where I live, bought the West Desrt Preserve - and renamed it West Desert Trails to make it sound more community friendly.

In this photo, you can see the entrance to the desert that I use when I walk back there (now I need a permit) to take photographs. They are using it as a staging area for the construction of ten wells and several miles of pipelines. Look what they have done to the desert! Razed.

Enlarge

When I received my permit in the mail, it came with a map of the areas that were restricted and trails that were now permanently closed. The trail and entrance I use are closed.

There is a huge well being dug along the road on the way up to my house. I'll get into the rumors about why the mine company is suddenly pumping a new source of fresh water some other time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.