Moreton-in-Marsh

It was another scorching hot day after a tropical night on the campsite. It was so hot last night I slept with the Campervan windows and tailgate fully open. Thankfully I was backed up to a hedge and not overlooked!

I had planned on taking the bus to Stow-on-the-Wold but the timetable on the bus company app was incorrect and I missed the bus by 30 minutes! So I spent the morning doing a bit more exploring of the town. Moreton is a beautiful place but it’s on one of the main roads through the Cotswolds so it’s very busy and there are lots of cars everywhere! I enjoyed some of the side streets and a few small boutiques. See Extra photo for another collection of Moreton doorways.

I didn’t have lunch but I did treat myself to an early afternoon coffee and cake, half price thanks to the government Eat Out to Help Out scheme. The tea-room had a beautiful garden but it was just too hot to be out there even in the shade. See the second Extra photo for their eclectic collection of tea pots and tea cosies.

The afternoon was spent back at the campsite, reading and trying to stay cool. I was very thankful for my shaded spot.

In the evening I had a dinner date! With Findlay the giant golden-doodle who lives at the Bell pub in town. I had met him earlier in the day and agreed to make a reservation as long as he could join me. A thunderstorm was rolling in but I made it back into town just before the rain started. You can see from the picture that The Bell has a connection with author J.R.R. Tolkien and it was possibly an inspiration for The Prancing Pony in his book ‘Lord of the Rings’. I enjoyed a delicious sirloin steak (£10 instead of £20, thanks again to the meal deal!) and Findlay DID join me, although he only got dog treats, none of the steak!

The rain was really coming down when I walked back to the campsite, but thankfully I had a big rain poncho with me AND an umbrella. The temperature really dropped with the storm which was a huge relief, although it still felt like a tropical night for sleeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.