The Old Post Office, Guiting Power, The Cotswolds

It was still a tropical night, but the rain and thunderstorm last evening really did break the heatwave and the temperature was back to normal today. SUCH a relief! It was rainy on and off this morning as I packed things up ready to leave the campsite and head home. It’s a pity I didn’t have another night, as the temperature was now perfect for camping and I don’t mind a bit of rain here and there.

I made a last minute decision to visit this lovely place before leaving the Cotswolds. The decision was really made for me, because the obvious route home seemed to be blocked near Stow-on-the-Wold, which I believe was because of a tree that came down in last night’s storm. So I drove about 30 minutes cross-country to visit the village of Guiting Power because I had heard about this lovely tea-room in what was once the village Post Office.

It rained the whole way there but the views over the hills were still beautiful. Armed with my umbrella I walked around the village and church. The bottom middle and right pictures are views from the churchyard.

Thankfully the rain stopped just in time because the only seating left was outside. A chair and table were wiped down and I enjoyed both lunch AND afternoon tea with cake. The picture at the bottom left was my view as I sat there. A perfect setting! There were also two rooms of antiques and bric-a-brac upstairs which were nice to browse in. I had a couple of nice conversations with the owners as well as a couple of the other guests, and got some ideas for future visits to the area. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks, but to a different campsite not too far away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.