Bedminster StreetArt Tour

Bedminster is an area of Bristol south of the river - a short walk from the campsite. I went wandering around there this afternoon looking for more street art. Some I’ve seen before and some is new - new work as part of Upfest - Europe’s largest street art and graffiti festival.

I have enough pictures to fill up a couple of months worth of blips! These are 3 of my favourites. The top two show the Ebenezer Gate Pocket Park, which I stumbled across - a tiny little oasis of calm and beauty in an otherwise busy noisy street! Not only a beautiful mural but several places to sit, free herbs to pick and a ‘free little library’. I love community gardens! I wonder what would have become of this space if the community hadn’t transformed it?

The VW with the stack of suitcases is just wonderful - it was tricky getting a good shot and I had to move a bin that was blocking the car.

I love the painting on the dentist’s office. Not all street art is ‘underground’.

There are, of course, more in my Extra photo. The middle picture is a work in progress with the artist just cleaning up for the day. I had a short conversation with her. She said it’s the first time she’s done one so large and using scaffolding. I will have to go back and see it when it’s finished. The others are a variety of my favourites. I had enough for at least a couple more collages.

I’ve added one more Extra photo - it was almost my main picture - not only a colourful mural but I didn’t realise until afterwards that there’s a cheeky grin and a thumbs up by a guy racing by on a scooter. That made me laugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.