The Matthew

I was tired after my long walk yesterday (almost 22,000 steps for the day!), so I had a more relaxing day today, especially since the weather was unsettled. I took Sue, my new blipfriend (see yesterday’s blip), to a little cafe in the boatyard near to the campsite. We had a long chat over a couple of coffees and I had an avocado toast with an egg - delicious. Molly the dog was with us also, while Sue’s hubby was visiting a museum.

While we were there this boat came by. I see it most days as it does several harbour tours - always sold out when I’ve checked! This is the Matthew - a modern reconstruction (1994-96) of the original Matthew that was sailed by John Cabot to Newfoundland in 1497. This modern boat sailed to Newfoundland for the 500th anniversary in 1997, has done various other trips and has been used in films and television.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.