Leigh Woods, Bristol

Look very carefully and you will see another view of the amazing Clifton Suspension Bridge!

I arrived back in Bristol yesterday. Besides it being a wonderful city break, one of the things I love is how easy it is to also find trees and grass and beautiful country views. I took a bus and went just 4 stops and spent the afternoon walking through Leigh Woods (National Trust). It was a warm and sunny day so it was good to be mostly in the shade. There are even cows grazing although they must have been hiding because I didn’t actually see any!

See the Extra photo for other views. I do love the dog picture! He was really loving that large stick, carrying it so proudly! I spent 2-3 hours wandering around the woods, stopping for a small picnic I brought with. When I was done I crossed the bridge and looked back to where I’d walked. Leigh Woods is on the other side of the Avon Gorge from Clifton - middle left and right pictures.

I had hoped to have tea and cake once I was in Clifton but by this time it was about 430 and every cafe I went to was soon closing for the day which I thought was rather early! So I continued with part 2 of my walk and wandered around Clifton a bit, taking a slow way back to the campsite. Clifton has LOTS of beautiful houses and narrow little steep alleyways down the hill. I found a new way to walk down and came to a great spot to view the harbour and the city. The bottom left picture is looking east towards Bristol, with Brunel’s SS Great Britain (now a museum) in the middle of the picture. The bottom right picture is looking towards the west showing the harbour and the boat-building Underfall Yard. If you look very closely just to the right of the big pine tree, there is the campsite - you might even see Alfie the Campervan! (A magnifying glass is needed!)

I was exhausted when I got back ‘home’ so I stopped at the pub next door and had a starter and a drink for dinner, and enjoyed the setting sun.

After dinner I had a blipmeet, as fellow blipper 63Daisies was also at the campsite. We had both been here at the same time a couple of months ago but didn’t realise it til after we’d both left. So this time we were determined to meet - Sue and Adrian and Molly the dog. I had an enjoyable cup of tea with them sitting under the trees. See second extra photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.