Two Anniversaries Today

Dear Diary,

Today is the 130th anniversary of my grandmother's birth.  She turned 30 years old on this day in 1920 when the 19th Amendment to the US constitution was finally ratified giving women universal suffrage, something women had fought for for generations.  New York, the state my grandmother was born in and lived had become one of the first states to grant women the right to vote in 1917.  The presidential election of 1920 was a momentous one just as the one 100 years later is.  I don't know who my grandmother voted for in 1920 but Warren Harding won with his slogan "a return to normalcy".  We, in 2020 are hoping for the same with the ouster of Trump on November 3rd.  I may not know who she voted for in 1920 but I am absolutely sure she would not have voted for Donald Trump, she would have found him abhorrent.  Her granddaughter will be casting her precious vote for the Biden-Harris team.  Yes, this is an historic election this year; the most consequential in my lifetime.  I haven't missed a presidential election since I first voted in one in 1972 and I would crawl over broken glass if I had to to vote in this one.

The collage shows my grandmother at 3 with her older sister in 1893, at 7 in 1897, at 16 in 1906 and on her wedding day in 1912.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.