Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Sea Fog over the Southern Bays

With the Black Labrador alarm clock sticking her cold wet snout into my face just after 7am this morning (they don't have a weekend setting) I figured that I may as well head out to take some photos in the golden light.

After yesterday's foray to Birdlings Flat, and the tantalising views it offers towards the Southern Bays of Banks Peninsula beyond, I thought I'd head off to Tumbledown Bay, one of the nicest beaches on the whole of the peninsula.

The climb up Kinloch in the truck was well worth the view at the top, but whilst taking in the views I did notice the low cloud hugging the lake margins and Kaitorete Spit. As I carried on along Bossu Rd and then to the Te Oka Bay Road turn off I was greeted by this sight of low cloud and sea fog at the entrance to Tumbledown and Te Oka Bays.

Undeterred I carried on down the other side of the hill down the rough shingle road that eventually brings you too these two beaches.

As I expected, Tumbledown was deserted, except for me, a few gulls and oystercatchers and a small colony of New Zealand Fur Seals bathing in the early morning sun.

Today was one of those days that reminds me I really do need to pony up for a full Blipfoto membership so I can share more of this delightful part of the South Island's coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.