Result

A long and exhausting day.  Thanks to the combined efforts of C & I and my brother I now have two cold frames, a large garden store - full and a lot less overhanging tree!   Extra pics show a little more of the story.

When C & I arrived this morning at the same time as the builders merchants with a tonne of sharp sand and the same of pea gravel, I had a sense that things were lining up nicely!   I came armed with his chainsaw which enabled bigger things to be cut up ... and down.   The huge eucalyptus lost several limbs, letting in a lot more light although there is plenty more work to do in that department.   The ground I had cleared earlier was levelled and a shallow trench cut around it before a membrane was laid over and the trench filled with gravel, securing the membrane and ensuring good drainage around the frames.   I rebuilt the frames as the rest of us worked, finally bringing the many boxes of potted bulbs and spare, clean pots in from the van.

Once the van was empty we picked up the garden store which my brother was donating.   For many years it was the outside store at our family caravan a few miles inland, so this felt like taking in a family heirloom!    The easiest way to get it in involved lifting it over the garden wall which was mildly entertaining but once it landed in position on the only level hardstanding I inherited here, it looked like the space was made for it.  An extra pic shows some of the crates of bulbs that currently fill it.

I am so lucky to have such good friends to help me with this move.  Words are not enough.   I look forward to helping them with their garden at the windmill in future .... one thing's for sure, they've an awful lot more work on there than I have here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.