Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Barns, butterflies and bees

It was a beautiful day today and we did consider going on a really long hike but after yesterday's long cycle I was feeling a bit lazy, plus I thought Xena could have an easier day after all the running she did yesterday. So after breakfast Gavin and I set off though the village as there was a very pretty chalet I wanted to photograph, and then we found ourselves on a path above the village with wonderful views over the village. We have walked this path many times before but since we last walked it they seem to have renamed it the Gadäwag trail, as it passes so many of the little blackened barns I mentioned yesterday. Some barns have been done up, one had a small museum upstairs and another had the sound of cow bells as you walked close to it. Xena and I were both confused, looking for the cows until we realised it was a recording of the cow bells. 

There are still many wild flowers around and Xena loves running through the meadows trying to flush out butterflies, bees and whatever other insects are in the long grasses and flowers. We saw many butterflies again today, mainly fritillaries.

It was wonderful to be out in the sunshine. Luke is still having all day online lectures, Meriel is working, Adam had another zoom lab meeting and Tommy was just relaxing at the apartment - I felt sorry for them not to be out enjoying the good weather. 

I could easily spend another 4 weeks here as whenever we come here we run out of time and I don't get to do the hikes and cycles I plan to do. Maybe I should stay and run a photography workshop, haha, now there is a thought! The Zurich schools went back on Monday and the local schools went back today so it is lovely and quiet again in the village, and now we seem to hear more English voices around. We met another English couple on our walk with their dogs and they were saying walking here with the dogs certainly beats walking in Hyde Park in London! We also met a lovely German lady who has been coming here for 40 years, and we were discussing our respective countries and their handling of the Coronavirus epidemic. We really could not compare to the way Germany handled it!

I have added extra photos here of the walk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.