JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Ghost moth

Today I took Milly (pony) out for some exercise first thing, with a friend: a short ride together, around quiet lanes.  There was a light mist at first, but it was dry. In the past, this would have been 100% pleasure: looking out over Sheffield from the hills on the city's northern side; concentrating on balance and movement, watching out for anything that might make Milly nervous (today, a silent bicycle coming up behind us at speed was enough to send her scooting forwards in semi-panic, but we got over that all right). But the honest truth: I have lost my nerve with riding, since falling off a couple of years ago (no harm done, but that was just good luck).  The time is right for Milly to move on to a younger and braver human companion, as I hope will happen in September.
Then it rained all afternoon and I got on with household tasks.  Spent an hour and a half in a relaxed videocall with a very old friend in the States. Which of us has the more chaotic and more scary government at the moment? It's hard to call. We cheered each other up...
A quick chat with the GP, on the phone: these days, we can't make a simple appointment, it has to be a phone consultation first. I understand why... and she was very helpful... blood tests will follow (to check on the medication I take for an underactive thyroid).
After all that I had forgotten entirely about Blips and photos. But a short walk in the garden, as the light was fading, brought a glimpse of this delicate moth flitting among the oregano flowers. I wasn't fast enough with the iPhone to adjust the shutter speed, but maybe that doesn't matter... this ghostly image perfectly captures the sense of softness and fleeting movement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.