For whom the bell tolls . . .

Bit of a mixed-up day today.  A bit of everything - wind, rain and sunshine. I set off before lunch to visit my two veg beds, beginning with the Walled Garden. Plenty of runner beans - I picked another 6lbs - but very windy there and both beans and peas were getting knocked about, the potatoes too. Hope it calms down before everything gets wrecked!

I had a picnic in Glen Lonan beside the river but decided to stay in the car as it was looking rather black. I'm glad I did - there was a short but heavy shower! There was nobody else at the tunnels when I got there, but the beans were a disappointment. The watering system just isn't working and they were looking very dessicated - even the beans themselves were curled up. The tomatoes were a bit better, but the whole bed looks in poor shape. I gave it a good soak with many cans of water, but I don't think it's worth the effort.

The whole site was once a nursery operated by Barguillean Farm, which is opposite - my Blip today as the sun popped out to light up the house while the background remained gloomy and mysterious. The clock on the new building at the front the clangs out the time - to remind veggie growers when it's time to go home!. 

Quote of the Day: (proving that the youth of today are great thinkers!)

Miley Cyrus - "I think water's, like, a really important thing."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.