A little beauty

Rain on and off today, but lovely sunshine now, nearly 5pm. Did a little pot weeding outside, looking over the various bulbs I have in containers. This is Eucomis autumnalis, though it's smaller than the one I grew outside for years at Arduaine; I must check with the supplier. It's also known as the pineapple lily, for obvious reasons! When I first grew this, many years ago, I remember thinking 'I wonder if the top would root, as pineapples do?' I tried it and it did - and even more, it produced a ring of bulblets around the base. I grew these on and within a few years my one bulb had become forty! I've never seen this mentioned in literature tho' you can also grow them from leaf cuttings. Maybe it's the first thing I've ever discovered for myself! There are quite a few species hardy enough to grow outside.

Limerick of the Day:

A retiring young chappie called Cholmondeley,
Met a girl most remarkably colmondeley.
Though his amorous ambition
Failed to come to fruition,
He continued to worship her dolmondeley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.