Favourite carpet

Although I am partial to Persian and Chinese rugs, I generally don't like patterned carpets. However, I love this one in Winsford's house because it reminds me of one of the carpets in my childhood home. If the carpet blipped doesn't survive forthcoming house renovations, I'm hoping that a wee corner of it might be saved for me.

We were very glum when we first returned home from our holiday at lunchtime today. It felt like we were being ordered back into Coronavirus captivity, without anything to look forward to. Normally when we arrive back in Edinburgh after a trip to the far north in August we are excited about the Festival and Fringe events all over the city at this time of year. Instead, the only other real fun for us this month will be a visit from Mr hazelh's sister and her partner at the end of next week. This has only come about because the pair of them were meant to be going on holiday to France, but were obliged to cancel when the French quarantine conditions were announced. Other contributory factors to our sadness were the 'longawaitedness' of the recent holiday itself, and our arrival in a grey city after almost a fortnight of playing outside all day long under blue skies and sunshine.

Then I received a message from my friend Sally who said that she had presents for all her girlfriends, and that I was included in the list of recipients. This cheered me up a lot. A couple of hours in my yarden this afternoon had also helped me feel a bit better about our return to Edinburgh.

Sam dropped off my present from Sally this evening. It may make its way into this journal at some stage. Watch this space.

Exercise today: yardening (8181 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.